TV Isn’t Really Free, You Know

This doesn’t actually seem like a bad idea:

Starting August 15, Fox will offer its next-day Hulu options only to subscribers to the Dish Network (or Hulu Plus). Non-subscribers will have to wait eight days to watch the shows, even though in regular, not-Internet life, those with and without the Dish Network can watch Fox programs on DVRs whenever they please, with equal impunity.

New York is operating under the assumption that this move is irregular — but chances are, it’s something all of the networks have been discussing together, or in their own silos.

And why not? TV viewers are beginning to expect that they can watch shows the next day on the internet — and networks are getting very little out of that. Charging a bit for that capability is probably where all networks are headed.

Granted, I may be biased as I’m a happy Hulu Plus subscriber (it’s a critical supplement to Netflix in my cable-less household), but the service is fairly cheap and well worth it.

1 Comment

Filed under Technology, TV

One response to “TV Isn’t Really Free, You Know

  1. Louis Frayser

    They can charge all the want! My experience is that if a show is good(worth watching) which is rare, the networks will drop it. It is so rare that there is something I like, I don’t bother to pay.

    I have cable only because I want a business channel to track the stock market.

    I have NetFlix and consider it much better than TV because it is easier to find something interesting. However, I soon ran out of really good shows. There is a limited selection, especially now that I only subscribe to the streaming service. I reduced my subscriptions each time they raised the price.

    I just don’t watch TV shows or movies regularly because I don’t expect much. So now it’s possible to find something good that I haven’t seen, because I look for it so seldom.

Leave a Reply

