Bait and Switch

I expected there to be rapping at the Donald Glover / Childish Gambino show, of course. Gambino is Glover’s musical alter-ego and the IAMDONALD tour announcement made no bones about it: this was a comedy-rap show.

But I didn’t expect it to be so heavy on the rap. Glover’s comedic intro was pretty funny, but after about 15 minutes he switched over to music and didn’t quit for another hour. Which is fine, I guess, but as I haven’t really listened to the EP, it wasn’t really getting it for me. Still, it was clear he was loving what he was doing on stage, and I don’t blame him for using his fame to do what he loves.

However, it should be noted that Glover raps most frequently about having a large penis and how he uses it to have sex with women of various races.

Update: My friend Amina quickly schooled me after seeing this post: “it was a concert. not a standup routine. he has 2 eps out. that he very excitedly distributed on the innanet.” Fine.

1 Comment

Filed under Music

One response to “Bait and Switch

  1. Yeah, I kinda thought that there would be more comedy as well. Even though I’ve been listening to his EPs for the last 6-7 months, the concert was the first tme I found his lyrics a little off-putting. Maybe I’m getting old.

Leave a Reply

